Lime and Almond cupcakes

It’s Christmas and full of parties. My housemates have an annual Christmas party that I used to join long before I started living with them. However, this year I feel like part of the host. So I decided to whip up something nice for people to enjoy.
My housemate is gluten and lactose intolerant so I looked up this recipe on taste.com.au as I’ve never really baked anything gluten free.

Ingredients:
Cupcake:
125 g butter (nuttelex)
3/4 cup (175g) caster sugar
2 eggs
2 cups (300g) self raising flour (gluten free)
100g ground almonds
1/2 cup (125 ml) milk (soy)
1 lime

Icing: (Not lactose free)
200 g white chocolate
150ml light thickened cream

Method:
Leave butter outside to drop to room temperature.
Preheat oven to 180 degrees celsius.
Line 12 muffin trays with cupcake shells.
Beat the butter and caster sugar until a slightly creamy texture.
Beat in two eggs until soft and bouncy (egg whites have a lot of protein that makes the mixture frothy and bouncy, so try to make it as frothy before adding the flour)
FOLD(mix with spoon/spatula gently) in the flour and almonds without whipping it too hardly so you keep a bit of the bouncy frothiness in the mixture.
Mix the lime juice and grind (i forgot the grind.. oops..)

image
Cupcake mixture and cupcake pen

Now, I had a workmate who told me about a cupcake pen which I bought a year ago and never used. So I thought this was perfect opportunity to use it.
Getting the cupcake mixture into the cupcake pen was quite difficult as any other task of filling a small tube. However I finally managed but the task of squeezing the mixture out of the pan was excrutiatingly hard. I think it was worth a whole arm workout!! Maybe this wasn’t the right cupcake mixture to use it as the gluten free and almond mixture was quite dense.

Finally managed to fill the cupcake shells and put in oven for 30 minutes, turning the tray around midway as I had fan forced on.

While the cupcakes are cooking start heating the cream in a saucepan at low heat.

image
Cream and chocolate mixture

Although I am no professional or anything close to adequate in cooking I have a love for chocolate and did attend a chocolate making class. And I vaguely remember sonething called ‘ganache’ as being something similar of this kind. Anyway, once the cream is heated, drop little bits of your chocolate and melt it in the cream. You can take it off the heat as the cream should have enough heat to melt the chocolate.
Remember to continue to mix!!! Keep in the fridge for an hour or overnight (I did as I made these yesterday and will be serving them tonight).

Once the cupcakes are done, cool them in the muffin tray and then on a rack once you can take them out.

If all is cool and nice, top the cupcakes with the icing (whip it up once more if you want).

image
Finished cupcakes (one without icing for housemate)

I think personally, my icing wasn’t great, and I should’ve whipped it more to create that sense of tall cupcake icing… maybe next time I will look up an icing instruction to make better icing on these cupcakes.
I did end up doing one taste test, and it seems a bit dense, but that is expected from gluten free recipes as per my friends. Maybe if I manage more icing per cupcake it might be better too… (as the icing started melting and I couldn’t top them up more… need for whipping to make the cream stiffer maybe…)

Anyway, courtesy of cupcake shells and decorations bought at ALDI, it at least looks semi presentable. 😉

♡lubullu

Leave a Reply

