Fast Food

A craving for Turkish bread and grilled cheese... You wouldn't believe I actually broke into the shed to find the sandwich press.
A craving for Turkish bread and grilled cheese… You wouldn’t believe I actually broke into the shed to find the sandwich press.

So I once had this task with some friends at work of taking a photo of ‘fast food’. A lot of people submitted their tricky photos with food trucks and other awesomeness, but I thought I’ll just make something fast and take a photo of it. You wouldn’t believe it… Fast food tastes nice!
I guess some people might argue that any preparation involved may not be fast food. But whipping this up only took 10 minutes. (…. Plus the 20 minutes trying to find a sandwich press, which I broke into the shed for…)

A simple recipe for anyone to follow:
1 x Turkish Bread
1/2 x Red capsicum
2 x sliced cheese (of your choice… thicker and fuller flavours are my personal choice)
handful of baby spinach (or any green, as I feel guilty if I don’t eat it)
3-4 x slices of shaved leg ham (or other)

Now the trick is to pre-heat the sandwich press, and chuck it in and wait for the cheese to melt. I personally found the capsicum slices were hard to heat up so maybe stick with having them fresh or slice it a bit thinner.

Leave a Reply

